La Sagrada Familia

As you already know, this blog is a viaggio from Athens to Florence. However, this time let us make a stop to Barcelona. I know you’ll tell me there are so many worth-mentioning spots in that city, but I think I will stick to La Sagrada Familia. Maybe because that was the neighborhood I used to stay in during my visit, maybe because Ι have never seen anything equivalent of a Basilica before…in anyway I believe that it deserves a little of our time.

992903_10200750608100798_319293482_n  SAMSUNG 

Designed by the Catalan architect Antoni Gaudí, La Sagrada Familia is a Roman Catholic church in Barcelona. Its construction begun in 1882, and in 1883 Gaudí took charge of the project and transformed it thoroughly, combining Gothic with modernist (Catalan Modernism) elements. After Gaudí’s death in 1926, only the 25% of the project was complete. The construction of La Sagrada Familia advanced gradually, yet it remains incomplete. 

SAMSUNG   SAMSUNG

Entering the Basilica, I could not hide my insuperable feeling when I outfaced the imposing Christ on the Cross. The sculptures hanging all over the church indicate its sanctity in combination with the noticeable silence, despite the great number of visitors. Of course, I could not miss the tour on the towers of La Sagrada Familia, from where the view is something more than breathtaking.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

From where I stand, La Sagrada Familia is a must-see in someone’s lifetime, independently of whether he prefers exploring the cultural elements of a place or not.

Words cannot always describe the majesty that the eyes witness.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Johnb698

     /  September 4, 2014

    Real nice design and great articles, nothing else we want ceegkbbkagea

    Reply

Leave a Reply

